Sunday, December 28, 2003

Serbian Elections – Nationalists Majority?

Based on the data collected from 54 % of polling stations, CESID – Serbian NGO specialised for election monitoring – predicts these results:

SRS - Serbian Radical Party, ultranationalists led by war crimes suspect Vojislav Šešelj (Vojislav Seselj) – 27,4 %
DSS – Democratic Party of Serbia, moderate nationalists led by Vojislav Koštunica (Vojislav Kostunica), last president of Federal of Yugoslavia, whose election has sparkled Milošević's (Milosevic's) downfall – 17,4 %
DS - Democratic Party, pro-Western liberals once led by slain prime minister Zoran Đinđić (Zoran Djindjic) – 12,7 %
G-17 Plus – left-centre liberals led by economist Miroljub Labus – 11,7 %
SPO/Nova Srbija – nationalist party led by Vuk Drašković (Vuk Draskovic), former charismatic opposition leader who became Milošević's (Milosevic's) ally at the eve of Kosovo War – 8,2 %
SPS – Socialist Party of Serbia, formally led by Slobodan Milošević (Slobodan Milosevic) - 7,6 %

That leaves only 6 major parties in Serbian Parliament ("Zajedno za toleranciju" coalition that gathers small left-wing, regional and ethnic minority party is around 4 % and most likely won't enter Parliament). Of those 6 parties:
- 4 are nationalist (SRS, DSS, SPO and SPS);
- 2 are led by war crimes suspects (SRS and SPS)
- 2 had their party militias responsible for atrocities in Croatia 1991 (SRS and SPO).


Latest seat distribution projection (based on 80 % of votes counted). Out of 250 seats in Serbian Parliament:
SRS – 82 seats
DSS – 53 seats
DS – 37 seats
G-17 – 34 seats
SPO – 22 seats
SPS – 22 seats

SRS, together with their former allies SPS can expect 104 seats. If SPO joins them, they could have 126 seats.

"Zajedno za toleranciju" is, according to latest reports, "on the edge of entering Parliament". With their votes, pro-democracy bloc would regain majority. This way, nationalists seem to be in the lead.


Post a Comment

<< Home